August 2nd & riding the rails

We had left Chicago Union Station about 9:30 the night of the first and spent the first third of the trip sleeping. The Mrs slept in the top bunk and I slept on the bottom. The sleeperette bunks have special shaped mattresses ~ they are about the width of a single mattress at the end where you would rest your head and shoulders, but then it tapers to about half that width from the waist down where your feet would be. I slept with my feet on the wide part because we had to balance a 50 pound suitcase right next to the bunk-head-space, and I was afraid if the train ride got rough, it would topple and crush my head… preferred that it land on my feet! Here is The Mrs sitting in the seat after breakfast after the bunks put away. Notice the towering Purple Suitcase of Impending Doom next to her…

024

The trip for most of the morning was fairly uneventful. I spent most of the time reading. I had brought a number of books planning to work my way through them over the duration of the entire vacation. So on this, the second day of our vacation, I finished off 2 excellent books by the Irish author, Jean Reinhardt. ( The books are available on Amazon and Amazon.uk).  A Pocket Full of Shells and A Year of Broken Promises (the sequel to “A Pocket…”). The links to the Amazon pages have good summaries of these books. My biggest problem was I only bought 2 of Jean’s books. Then read them so fast! So I am going to order a couple more today…

I was planning to add more of this day’s journey, but I had a blood vessel rupture in my left eye late yesterday morning. Last summer (July 5th) I had blood vessels in my RIGHT eye rupture due to diabetic retinopathy and over the course of a few months had 3 eye surgeries that restored most of the vision… I have an appointment to see my new ophthalmologist to check out this latest eye issue. In the meantime, my vision is compromised, but at least I am not blinded like last year!

Leave a Reply

