It had to happen…

I got the call yesterday afternoon… The Mrs’ pontoon boat was fixed, tuned up, and ready to be picked up. Her pontoon has been at Josh’s Watercraft shop outside of Rochester, IL since late spring, facing significant motor repairs. The starter motor is attached to a flange that is part of the aluminum motor block. One corner of the flange broke, through one of the mounting bolt holes, and the starter broke free (danged free-range starters!) When I took it in and and discussed it with Josh, he said he has a couple guys who will come to his shop and bring their aluminum welding equipment. Since these guys are good at a fairly rare skill, AND will travel to job-sites, it is tough to get them in to a small shop for a small job. He finally got them both to stop in and both said they couldn’t weld the motor flange, the aluminum was pretty low-grade and wouldn’t take a decent weld. So… Josh built a bracket and fixed it…

DSCF2740

Starter works & is solidly attached again, yay! Did the tune-up and then started it to make sure everything worked… but it was only firing on one cylinder (boy, do I know THAT feeling!!) Turns out the CDI was bad! So he ordered one out of St. Louis, and had it shipped overnight. TA-DA! You can see the pretty, new CDI in the lower right corner of the photo above.

Yesterday afternoon I drove over and picked up the pontoon and brought it home…

DSCF2738

As you can see, it is still sitting in the driveway, waiting to be launched, motored home, and docked. And this is where “It Had To Happen…” is relevant. Since the pontoon was not here all spring/summer so far, I have docked the Miss Mollie between the two docks, nice and safe and secure. But that is the pontoon’s spot, so now I have to move Miss Mollie to the south side of the smaller dock.  I had to add a couple new cleats before the move could take place, and after a trip to the hardware store, I moved MM… She is now snugged up in her new digs.

I believe this is a good position for her, since  our prevailing winds come out of the south,  just off the starboard, so it should be quite easy to set sails and pull straight ahead from the dock… The weather dude is calling for rain later this afternoon, but I may go down now and take a quick sail as soon as I hit “publish”…

HikingTheTrail.com 365 in 365

3 thoughts on “It had to happen…

  1. I hope you won’t think any the less of me, but reading this was like listening to a lecture on quantum physics for all that I understood. I gather that you had boat problems, for which I would like to offer my sincere commiserations . But, man to man, I don’t think you should be mucking around with Mollie. My loyalties are to Grace, as yours should be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You sure took the mickey outta me, Charles! LMAO! Yes, boat problems, but now resolved. And just for the record, Grace joined me on Miss Mollie on the water for a couple hours today…

    Like

  3. hahaha charles, that was my reaction exactly to all of kevin’s talk about what was broken and fixed on the boat! he explained it to me in person at least twice, but i’m still not clear about what transpired, except that the boat is now working and we’ll hopefully put it in the water in the morning! we did go for a nice sail this afternoon for a while, but it is mind-blowingly hot and humid here right now, so we’re both sitting in the air-conditioning.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

