Thursday Doors – Vienna, Österreich

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Visit Norm 2.0 for more doors and details.

vienna-balcony-2007

Wien, Österreich – 2007

I have enjoyed riding my bicycle for fun, exercise, and basic transportation since I was a kid. I convinced The Mrs in 2007 that we should take a bicycle trip for our anniversary that year. Grace had not ridden her bike like I had, so we settled on a sag-supported trip along the Danube (Donau) River from Germany to Vienna (Wien). No major changes of elevation on the bike paths, and mostly on paved surfaces.  We had a wonderful trip. Once in Vienna, we surrendered our rental bikes and explored on foot. Back then, I was not a door fueled freak like I am these days, so most of my photos that might even somewhat include a door were either from a panoramic shot of an entire building or block of buildings, or of a detail of architecture adjacent to a door. THIS photo is of a balcony door to a loft apartment I assume, and it just absolutely fascinated me. The photo below is of another loft apartment… I believe these were near the Naschmarkt .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Couple more gratuitous building photos from Wien… (sans doors I am afraid.)

 

10 thoughts on “Thursday Doors – Vienna, Österreich

  1. All those buildings have doors, we just can’t see them. 🙂 My husband’s an avid cyclist and I’ve been the support vehicle for him or him and a fellow cyclist on more than a few rides. Maybe one day we’ll do a ride, too. He’s often given me mailings from companies that do tours, but they’re so expensive! They do, however, sound amazing.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My first overseas bike tour was in Ireland, and I went with a tour company. It was a bit pricey, but it was a wonderful trip, met a whole lot of great people, the accommodations were top notch, and we had two guides and a sag wagon. There are cheaper non-group alternatives thru companies that handle the booking and luggage transfers (w/o sag support or included meals) which we prefer to use these days… Do hope you get the chance to take a bike tour!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

