Yet Another Thursday Door…

Not sure if this is allowed, but I am posting a 2nd Thursday Doors this week. I will beg for Norm’s forgiveness after I get in trouble. And I have a goooood reason for this. (Note to Self: only 1 of those sentences as actually grammatically correct. oooops.)

My intent was to go out yesterday (on Thursday) and take a specific photo for Thursday Doors. However, it was raining and dreary, and it was warm and dry inside, and my jammies were too comfortable to change out of. So I found a door photo back from my days before door-enlightenment; when taking a photo with a door in it was unplanned and unintended. I posted that with a short little blurb about it.Β  My INTENDED DOOR was this… (Ta-Daaaa!)

009
1100 South 5th Street, Springfield, IL

This is the main doorway to the house that was the first headquarters in Springfield, Illinois of the Illinois State Police (named the Illinois State Highway Patrol back then in the early 1920’s). This is significant, because the Illinois State Highway Patrol came into existence on April 1, 1922… 95 years ago tomorrow. No joke!!

Today this building is used for offices, including a lawyer’s office, and I believe a couple suites are for rent if you want to have a cool office in Springfield….

Thursday Doors is a weekly challenge for door-enlightened souls in search of group-inclusiveness. It is the blog-child of Norm 2.0. Want to see more doors from around the globe? Go to his site HERE and click on the blue-rectangle-encased-frog…

As promised when I first posted this entry, I have a link to my ISP History blog with a short article about the ISP anniversary and a Proclamation by the Governor just displayed today at the current ISP HQ.Β  Illinois State Police Day – April 1, 2017

7 thoughts on “Yet Another Thursday Door…

  1. Posted under the theory that it’s better to ask for forgiveness afterwards rather than ask for permission beforehand right? πŸ˜€
    Kidding aside, it’s not unusual for someone to double post on a given week. Hey if you find two different ones worth sharing, then why not? And this one was worth the wait.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You got me pegged from the get-go! πŸ˜€ I will post a picture of the front of the house on my history site, which I will cite, & it truly is a sight (the building that is…)

    Like

Leave a Reply

