Thursday Doors – Ironic

Last week while taking pictures for TD, I took a picture of the entry door of the first Illinois State Police Headquarters in Springfield, IL (the capital city of Illinois). I then drove about 5 blocks away to take pictures of the entry doors of the current ISP Headquarters. I walked all the way around the building (it covers an entire city block) taking pics of every door I saw. I had just taken my last photo and was going to walk back to my car when a service door for automobile entry opened and a State Trooper came out. In his best command voice, he said, “Is there something I can help you with?!” I grinned at him because I recognized him from my life B4, and when he recognized me we shook hands, hugged, slapped each other on the back and blah, blah, blah-ed… So instead of being dragged into an interrogation room on suspicion of terrorist activity, I got invited in and got to sit and bs for half an hour… Didn’t even have to show my Norm’s Thursday Doors Get-Out-Of-Jail-Free card!!

So this week’s door is a secured delivery entrance door to the “new” Illinois State Police Headquarters. It might surprise you, but a significant number of the employees in the building are sworn officers. With full police powers, authority, and responsibility.Β  The ironic part of all this is the signage on the door prohibiting firearms!!!

020

Thursday Doors is a weekly challenge for door-enlightened souls in search of group-inclusiveness. It is the blog-child of Norm 2.0. Want to see more doors from around the globe? Go to his site HERE and click on the blue-rectangle-encased-frog…

10 thoughts on “Thursday Doors – Ironic

  1. Glad to read the happy ending to that story! πŸ™‚ It’s a bit how I feel when I’m outside someone’s home trying to take a photo of their door, or if I’m walking through a neighborhood, that someone might call the police, thinking I’m casing the neighborhood.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel the same when photoing a residence. I had a History of Architecture class years ago, and for the final paper I wandered around Springfield taking pictures of some of the grand old homes around Washington Park. One homeowner came out to ask me just what I was doing. I explained, but was certain I was going to get queried by the police anyway. But, didn’t, and got an A on the paper/class. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I was thinking I might need to bake you a cake with a saw hidden inside, when I first started reading your post. I haven’t tried to take any photos of garda stations here – I think I’ll give them a miss, just in case.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

