Thursday Doors – Caisleán Bhun Raithe (Bunratty)

I made my first visit to Ireland in June of 1994. I flew from Chicago’s O’Hare Airport to Shannon Airport where I met up with my parents and my older brother. We hired two cars at the airport, one for the parents and one for us “kids”. Our pre-planned scheduled itinerary consisted of: Day One – Visit Bunratty Castle and have dinner there, then stay overnight at a B&B where my parents made reservations before we left. Days 2 through 5 -Follow the sun. Days 6 & 7 – Stay at a B&B in Dublin then fly home.

Bunratty2
From left clockwise – My brother, Nik, my Dad, and my Mom invading Bunratty Castle, 1994

We drove to Bunratty Castle, County Clare for a tour & banquet….

Okay, so here is something I just discovered right now (or just remembered after 17 years)… see this sign?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

See the last paragraph where it mentions Admiral Giles Penn, and his son, William? THE William Penn who was founder of the American Colony, Pennsylvania? Well Giles Penn had a sister,  Hannah (William’s aunt). Hannah is my maternal great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great grandmother… A family connection to Bunratty!!!!

I have one other picture with any sort of door from this trip, and I believe I took it in the  Bunratty Castle Folk Park…

Limerick 1994

Thursday Doors is a weekly challenge for door-seeking souls (some of us sometimes steal door-thunder from the REAL Irish members of this grouping…) in search of group-inclusiveness. It is the blog-child of Norm 2.0. Want to see more doors from around the globe? Go to his site HERE and travel past all his wonderful door pics and click on the blue-rectangle-encased-frog…
17 thoughts on “Thursday Doors – Caisleán Bhun Raithe (Bunratty)

    1. I had to reread my grandmother’s ancestry entry for the Penn’s probably 4 or 5 times to make the connection crystallize in my poor old underused grey matter! Suddenly, in this one little entry, I have a fairly significant connection to jolly old England’s Navy, and Ireland’s Bunratty Castle, and the colony of Pennsylvania!! wowie!

      Like

  1. What a great family connection. I was in Ireland in the mid-seventies and will always remember how green it was and how narrow the streets were (my first overseas experience.) I’d love to go back sometime.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

