JAWRD – Just Another Water Related Door

Last Thursday I posted a couple pictures of a boat house on Lake Springfield, Illinois from the lakeside perspective. This week I stumbled across another water-related door. It is the entry door to a small little brick building on the north side of Springfield, IL. The signage above the door reads, “Village of Riverton Water Pumping Station”. The little building is in a sad state of disrepair, what with broken windows, and the door does not appear to be capable of closing anymore. I can relate some days! Hang in there, Buddy!!

thursday-door-3-2

As always…Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Feel free to join in on the fun by creating your own Thursday Doors post each week and then sharing it, between Thursday morning and Saturday noon (North American eastern time), by using the blue link-up button at Norm 2.0 .  Look for this guy at the bottom of Norm’s page

 

UPDATE: March 31, 2017

I drove back out to the location of this little building with my digital camera to get a good picture of the door…. hope you enjoy it!!! kev

052

21 thoughts on “JAWRD – Just Another Water Related Door

  1. Great little building. I would have loved to poke my head inside, but the lot is protected by an 8 foot chain link enclosure topped off with barbed wire… “hanging in there”…cute! 😀

    Like

    1. I do agree! I think about all the cool things I could use that little structure for here at home…. I invited it to join me, but it said it was kinda attached to its current spot…

      Like

    1. I did a double take as I drove past this little gem, did a u-turn, and parked half way off the roadway. I printed up a bunch of business cards that show I am an Official Thursday Door Photographer, and I have YOUR authority to disregard any and all traffic and health and safety rules and laws in pursuit of a door picture… Diplomatic Immunity and all that you know….

      Liked by 2 people

    1. If only we knew of a good writer who could catalog the “Thursday Doors Lexicon”… Wait, I know one! But then she would be too busy to keep writing HER (your) wonderful stories, so I say we nominate Norm, since this is HIS bailiwick anyway….

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, you’re cheating. That isn’t a door; it’s a doorway. Does that count? I wonder, did that fence cost more to erect than it would have cost to make that little building great again? Someone must love it – at least they’re cutting the grass!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I was younger, I always played by the rules. Now that I am just another old guy, I just play… 😀
      The surprising thing, with way local governmental bodies operate around here, something like this would usually just be torn down and the plot paved over…

      Like

Leave a comment